V/A Choosing Death – The Original Sountrack

Extreme metal journalist Albert Mudrian is also known as the author of “American Hardcore and Lords of Chaos: The Bloody Rise of the Satanic Metal Underground”. Of late Mudrian has also become known for his latest book – that goes by the title of “Choosing Death: An Improbable History of Death Metal & Grindcore”.

Extreme (cult) metal label Relapse Records joined the party and put together what is arguably the most influential (for some, «classic») artists to aurally illustrate the book – and the orgasm of any Death Metal freak is close at hand. By «classic» I mean C-L-A-S-S-I-C. Choosing Death – the OST features bands such as NAPALM DEATH, MORBID ANGEL, CANNIBAL CORPSE (and unavoidably Hammer Smashed Face), DEATH, CARCASS, OBITUARY, NILE, SUFFOCATION, etc.

You name an influential artist of the Death Metal scene (not so of the Grind variant) and it is most probably featured in this compilation. One of the positive things about this compilation is that Relapse did not focus on bands of its own catalogue – which makes this a fairly impartial OST.

There are some points of criticism to be made, though (that is why this is not a classic, but quasi). Surely it may become a matter of personal taste, but some of the bands may not have been quite as influential as it might appear, but those are details. As a whole it is quite consistent and not many would disagree with the choice. But, as regards to the consensual bands, some of the songs that have been chosen belong to the «after-classic period», which is slightly disturbing.

Relapse also thought fit to include exclusive, never-before-heard songs from NIHILIST (pre-ENTOMBED), SUFFOCATION and PIG DESTROYER.

Anyway, this is a compulsory piece for every decent Death Metal freak (from the average to the hardcore), as it basically sums up the highest moments of the DM history.

Track-listing as followed:

  1. NAPALM DEATH – Scum
  2. SIEGE – Walls
  3. REPULSION – Maggots in Your Coffin
  4. MORBID ANGEL – Chapel of Ghouls
  5. NIHILIST – Severe Burns [exclusive track]
  6. OBITUARY – Slowly we Rot
  7. DEICIDE – Lunatic of god’s Creation
  8. NAPALM DEATH – Suffer the Children
  9. CANNIBAL CORPSE – Hammer Smashed Face
  10. CARCASS – Heartwork
  11. AT THE GATES – Need
  12. DEATH – Symbolic
  13. OPETH – Demon of the Fall
  14. BRUTAL TRUTH – Dead Smart
  15. HATE ETERNAL – Powers that Be
  16. PIG DESTROYER – Untitled [exclusive track]
  17. ARCH ENEMY – We Will Rise
  18. ZYKLON – Psyklon Aeon
  19. NILE – Sarcophagus
  20. SUFFOCATION – Souls to deny [exclusive live track]

Official Site Choosing Death | Relapse Records

Carcass – Heartwork

Hate Eternal – Powers that Be

You may also like

Lets Hear It!